Lunch

I get stuck in severe lunch ruts. I will literally eat the same meal for lunch for weeks, even months, on end. I usually enjoy it so much that I will still be looking forward to it even after making it for countless days. Seriously. I went for months on end eating the same salad: baby greens, cannellini beans, toasted pecans, diced avocado, chopped dried figs and homemade dijon mustard dressing. I know that sounds weird, but it was so, so good. It got me through the day more than once.

Lately I’ve been trying to diversify my eating experience, unlike what I have done with my financial portfolio (mostly because I don’t have any financials to diversify). I know that I need to work on incorporating more variety into my diet to insure that I am getting the right balance of vitamins and nutrients. Blah, blah, blah. But it still needs to taste awesome. I want to finish my plate/bowl and say, “Man, that was so good. I wish there was more.” A tall order, for sure.

I am not trying to say that this dish is original or that it’s going to blow your mind. It isn’t and it won’t. But it is very tasty and very easy to make, so it’s worth mentioning.

2013-03-14 13.00.29

I know it doesn’t look fabulous, but I mostly blame my prehistoric phone for a low-quality photo. This dish is simple. It’s a bowl of baby spinach topped with 1/2 cup cooked quinoa, 1/2 cup cooked black beans, 1/2 avocado (diced), and some chopped cilantro, all topped with a few heaping tablespoons of salsa and a drizzle of olive oil. The salsa is what really takes this up a notch. I am sure it would be fine with your run-of-the-mill red stuff, but I discovered this ridiculously delicious mango-hananero stuff at my local grocery store and am hooked. The mix of sweet and kick is awesome. It’s saucy enough to function as a dressing on this “salad”, keeping the calories lower. (I still like that drizzle of olive oil on this, though.)

2013-03-14 13.00.42

Like I said, this is easy. I make a cup (uncooked) of quinoa, which yields 4 servings of the cooked stuff. I cooked dried black beans overnight in my slow cooker, but you could use canned, of course. Other than that, it takes about 30 seconds to dice the avocado, another few seconds to tear up some cilantro, and 2.75 seconds to scoop out the salsa. Simple, easy, healthy and satisfying. Win, win, win and win.

Leave a Reply

